Greenwich Piano Trio – 7th September 2019

We begin the Autumn concert season on 7th September with our old friends, the Greenwich Piano Trio (Lana Trotovsek, Violin; Heather Tuach, Cello; and Yoko Misumi, Piano).

And behold the great programme we have for you:

Beethoven – Piano Trio Wo039 in B Flat [Allegretto]

This single movement miniature is a gem of the genre. It is an original Piano Trio composition, and what it lacks in length it more than makes up in feeling. From first to last note it is sublime Beethoven – at his heavenly purest!

Schubert – Notturno D897 in E Flat

This late Schubert single movement work for Piano Trio is a deeply felt Adagio, its unrelenting piano runs and jagged string rhythms swinging between major and minor, pull the heartstrings as only Schubert can do!

Rachmaninov – Trio Elegiaque No 1 in G Minor

The exposition of this one-movement work in sonata form is built on 12 episodes, reversed symmetrically in the recapitulation – a unique invention for the 18-year-old Rachmaninov. The powerful Brahmsian elegiac theme first appears in the piano part, and is marked ‘Lento lugubre’, which says it all! In the sections which follow the elegy is presented by the cello and violin, and after constantly evolving it is ultimately recast as a funeral march – its form highly evocative of Tchaikovsky’s A Minor Piano Trio. When Rachmaninov embarked on his performing tours he selected mainly solo works, so it is unlikely that he would have performed this work on my piano – as we know, this was his instrument of choice whenever he performed in London!


Beethoven – Piano Trio in B Flat, Op. 97, ‘Archduke’

This Trio is referred to as the ‘Archduke’, because it was dedicated to Archduke Rudolph of Austria, the youngest of twelve children of Leopold II, Holy Roman Emperor. Rudolf was an amateur pianist and a patron, friend, and composition student of Beethoven. Beethoven dedicated a total of fourteen compositions to the Archduke.

Beethoven was 41 years old when he composed it, and by then was completely deaf – despite which he performed the piano part himself at rehearsals, almost destroying the fortepiano by banging the keys in the ‘forte’ passages, while playing inaudibly where the score is marked ‘piano’. After that he gave up public performances! Much as we would love to have heard that, tonight all will be revealed! The sublime music in this four-movement work is better heard than described, so I’ll say no more by way of introduction.

This concert is likely to be fully booked. To be sure of a place and avoid the waiting list, please book early.

For full booking instructions, including suggested donations, please have a look at our concerts page. We look forward to welcoming you on 7th September and thank you, as ever, for your kind support.